In Too Deep

DSC_0769

“You might not change Nepal, but Nepal will forever change you” – Lonely Planet

Starting from the eye of the storm. 18 days  in, and it will be a trying effort to trace my steps backwards to where I have come from. I am here, and I cannot turn back. I can only move forward. For the next 5 weeks I am a guest in a home to open to all. Nepal, you are absolutely breathtaking.

Without internet access it’s been difficult to maintain a blog, but from now on I will be making a weekly 2 hour trip to Ithari Cyber Cafe from Bhaunne Chowk to be sure to have this down on record.

I will be working at Chisang Clinic in Bhaunne, Nepal conducting interviews and taking part in participant observation for an anthropological research project concerning the village’s traditional breastfeeding practices. I will start pre-testing my research questions on exclusive breastfeeding and infant nutrition tomorrow- so excited! I will spend the bulk of this two month “yatra” (voyage) at Chisang Clinic Bhaunne in the plains and week or so at Chisang Clinic Dhankuta up in the “hills”- 8,200 ft above sea level. Interspersed will be bungee jumping adventures, treks across mountain ranges and trips to national safaris, tea estates, and surrounding villages.  I come with no set agenda, only an expectation of myself to continuously adapt, reflect and grow. The past leg of my journey has given me the opportunity to contextualize and widen my understanding of the project that I have undertaken. I am excited and so humbled.

Leave a comment